Armenian National Committee of America
888 17th St., NW, Suite 904
Washington, DC 20006
Tel: (202) 775-1918
Fax: (202) 775-5648
E-mail: [email protected]


July 19, 2005
Contact: Elizabeth S. Chouldjian
Tel: (202) 775-1918


-- Members of the International Relations Committee
Coming Under Pressure from Turkey's Lobbyists

-- Cosponsor List for H.Res.316 Reaches 102

WASHINGTON, DC - The Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA)
is working in Washington, DC and in communities around the nation to
generate support for Armenian Genocide legislation that is slated to
come before the House International Relations Committee. It appears
likely at this time that the Armenian Genocide measures (H.Res.316
and H.Con.Res.195) currently before Congress will be considered and
acted upon by the influential panel.

"We welcome the willingness of Chairman Hyde and the International
Relations Committee to formally consider and act upon Armenian Genocide
legislation," said ANCA Chairman Ken Hachikian. "We especially would
like to express our gratitude to George Radanovich for leading the
effort and building on his decade-long record of principled and
energetic leadership on this issue, to voice our gratitude to the
Co-Chairs of the Armenian Caucus - Joe Knollenberg and Frank Pallone
- for generating a powerful, bipartisan constituency, and to share
our special appreciation for Adam Schiff's vital role in ensuring
Committee level action on Armenian Genocide legislation."

"We look forward to working with our friends in focusing our collective
energies on defeating Turkey's genocide denial machine, to ensuring
favorable consideration of these measures by the International
Relations Committee, and to securing final passage of legislation
reaffirming the Armenian Genocide by the House of Representatives,"
added Hachikian.

H.Res.316, which was introduced by Representatives George Radanovich
(R-CA), Adam Schiff (D-CA), and Congressional Armenian Caucus
Co-Chairs Frank Pallone (D-NJ) and Joe Knollenberg (R-MI), calls
upon the President to ensure U.S. foreign policy reflects appropriate
understanding of the Armenian Genocide. The resolution includes thirty
detailed findings from past U.S. hearings, resolutions and Presidential
statements, as well as references to statements by international bodies
and organizations. As of today, a bipartisan group of over ninety-eight
Representatives have already agreed to cosponsor this measure.

H.Con.Res.195, introduced by Rep. Adam Schiff, was offered following
direct negotiations with House International Relations Committee
Chairman Henry Hyde (R-IL). The Chairman agreed to Committee-level
consideration of Armenian Genocide legislation in return for
Rep. Schiff tabling a planned June 8th Armenian Genocide amendment to
the House Foreign Relations Authorization bill. The agreement addressed
serious concerns on the part of the Administration and Congressional
leaders that the Schiff Amendment - which had strong prospects of
passing - would overshadow the White House meeting, held that same
day, between President Bush and Turkish Prime Minister Erdogan. This
measure, which is in the process of being amended, reaffirms the
Armenian Genocide within the broader context of regional relationships
and addresses Turkey's efforts to join the European Union.

According to Capitol Hill sources, the Turkish Ambassador and his
lobbyists - including the Livingston Group - are actively making the
rounds to members of the International Relations Committee, seeking to
block any action on U.S. reaffirmation of the Armenian Genocide. As
part of this effort, the Livingston Group has been distributing a
four-page genocide-denial document to Congressional offices.

A third, non-Genocide related resolution that may also be considered
by the International Relations Committee deals with Turkey's
illegal blockade of Armenia. This measure, H.R.3103, introduced by
Rep. Schiff, calls on Turkey to "comply with the long-standing position
of the United States that in order to restore economic, political,
and cultural links with Armenia, Turkey should immediately lift its
ongoing blockade with Armenia." In addition, it would require that,
"Not later than 30 days after the date of the enactment of this Act,
the Secretary of State shall submit to the appropriate Congressional
committees a report that outlines the steps taken and plans made by
the United States to end Turkey's blockade of Armenia." The ANCA
supports the adoption of this measure by the U.S. House at the
earliest opportunity.

In addition to Reps. Radanovich, Schiff, Pallone and Knollenberg,
those who have agreed to cosponsor H.Res.316 are: Gary Ackerman (D-
NY), Tom Allen (D-ME), Robert Andrews (D-NJ), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI),
Charles Bass (R-NH), Howard Berman (D-CA), Michael Bilirakis (R-
FL), Tim Bishop (D-NY), Jeb Bradley (R-NH), Sherrod Brown (D-OH),
Ken Calvert (R-CA), Michael Capuano (D-MA), Dennis Cardoza (D-CA),
William Clay (D-MO), John Conyers (D-MI), Jim Costa (D-CA), Jerry
Costello (D-IL), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), William Delahunt (D-MA),
John Dingell (D-MI), Mike Doyle (D-PA), David Dreier (R-CA), Eliot
Engel (D-NY), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Bob Filner (D-CA), Mark Foley (R-
FL), Barney Frank (D-MA), Scott Garrett (R-NJ), Mark Green (R-WI),
Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Maurice Hinchey (D-NY), Rush Holt (D-NJ),
Michael Honda (D-CA), Steve Israel (D-NY), Darrell Issa (R-CA),
Jesse Jackson (D-IL), Sue Kelly (R-NY), Patrick Kennedy (D-RI),
Dale Kildee (D-MI), Mark Kirk (R-IL), James Langevin (D-RI), Sander
Levin (D-MI), John Lewis (D-GA), Daniel Lipinski (D-IL), Zoe Lofgren
(D-CA), Nita Lowey (D-NY), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Carolyn Maloney
(D-NY), Edward Markey (D-MA), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Carolyn McCarthy
(D-NY), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI), Jim McDermott
(D-WA), James McGovern (D-MA), John McHugh (R-NY), Buck McKeon (R-CA),
Cathy McMorris (R-WA), Michael McNulty (D-NY), Martin Meehan (D-MA),
Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Candice Miller (R- MI), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY),
Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Richard Neal (D-MA), Eleanor Holmes Norton
(D-DC), Devin Nunes (R-CA), John Olver (D-MA), Donald Payne (D-NJ),
Collin Peterson (D-MN), Richard Pombo (R-CA), Mike Rogers (R-MI),
Steven Rothman (D-NJ), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Edward Royce
(R-CA), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Paul Ryan (R-WI), H. James Saxton (R-NJ),
Allyson Schwartz (D-PA), Joe Schwarz (R-MI), E. Clay Shaw (R-FL),
Christopher Shays (R-CT), Brad Sherman (D-CA), John Shimkus (R-IL),
Christopher Smith (R-NJ), Mark Souder (R-IN), Pete Stark (D-CA),
Ted Strickland (D-OH), John Sweeney (R-NY), John Tierney (D-MA),
Mark Udall (D-CO), Christopher Van Hollen (D-MD), Peter Visclosky
(D-IN), Diane Watson (D-CA), Henry Waxman (D-CA), Anthony Weiner
(D-NY), Frank Wolf (R-VA), and Lynn Woolsey (D-CA).